Skip to content »

2020-02 Archive

This week the Center for Faith and Service announced its list of Seminaries that Change the World: Class of 2020. We are delighted to report that for the fourth consecutive year Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary has been recognized by the Center in its listing of Seminaries that Change the World.

Dr. Luis R. Rivera, associate professor of theology and former academic dean at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, was awarded a $40,000 2020 Sabbatical Grant for Researchers from the Louisville Institute. He is grateful to President Lallene J. Rector, Academic Dean Mai-Anh Le Tran, and Dr. Justo L. Gonzalez for their support during the application process.

Mr. Jerre Stead, chairperson of the Board of Trustees of Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, announced today that Dr. Lallene J. Rector has expressed her intention to transition out of her leadership role in the Office of the President, effective August 1, 2020. An esteemed faculty member of Garrett-Evangelical since 1986, she served as academic dean and vice president of academic affairs from 2006-2013, and as president beginning January 1, 2014.