Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is accredited by two associations of schools, each with rigorous standards that challenge the seminary to assess its work in light of its mission and of common standards for excellence in graduate education: The Association of Theological Schools and The Higher Learning Commission. Both agencies will reviewed the school for reaccreditation in fall of 2018 and both agencies reaffirmed accreditation for the seminary through 2028. The following degree programs are approved by the Association of Theological Schools: M.Div., M.A. in Faith, Culture, and Educational Leadership (formerly M.A. in Christian Education), M.A. in Pastoral Care and Counseling, M.A. in Public Ministry, M.A. in Spiritual Formation and Direction (formerly M.A. in Spiritual Formation and Evangelism), M.T.S., D.Min., and Ph.D.


Accreditation Agency contact information:

Association of Theological Schools Logo
The Association of Theological Schools of the United States and Canada

10 Summit Park Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15275
Fax: 412-788-6510


The Higher Learning Commission

30 N. LaSalle Street, Suite 2400

Chicago, IL 60602-2504

(800) 621-7440


Substantive complaints regarding our ability to meet accreditation requirements may be submitted through the Higher Learning Commission’s Complaint Process.

Illinois state seal

As a graduate theological school chartered in Illinois, Garrett-Evangelical is authorized to operate and offer degree programs by the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE). Complaints regarding its operation that cannot be resolved directly with the institution may be submitted to IBHE.


Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary has been approved by Illinois to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements. NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education.

In addition, Garrett-Evangelical is on the approved seminary list and is regularly evaluated by the Commission on Theological Education of the University Senate of The United Methodist Church.