Distinguished Alum Awards

Honoring Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary graduates who exemplify outstanding service


Each year, Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary presents a Distinguished Alum Award to two persons who have rendered extraordinary service in their ministries. One award is given to an alum who graduated 25 years ago or less and another is presented to one who graduated more than 25 years ago.


Nominations for the Distinguished Alum Award are taken each year and graduates of Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary or its parent bodies Garrett Biblical Institute, Garrett Theological Seminary, Evangelical Theological Seminary, or the Chicago Training School, are eligible to be nominated.

Meet the 2023 Distinguished Alums

We were honored to present the 2023 Distinguished Alum awards to the Reverend Dr. Irene Taylor (MDiv ’87) and the Reverend Dr. Manuel Villalobos Mendoza (PhD ’10) for their remarkable ministries at this year’s Homecoming.

Irene Taylor and Manuel Mendoza

Nominations can be made HERE. The Distinguished Alum Awards are presented annually at Homecoming.

Past Distinguished Alums

Rev. Dr. Roger Ireson
Rev. TiShaunda McPherson


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the cancellation of the 2020 commencement ceremony, the 2020 Distinguished Alums were recognized at the 2021 Commencement.


Rev. Sue Laurie
Bishop Bruce Ough