Student Stories

Honors and Awards: Celebrating the Class of 2021 and Members of the Student Body

Honors Chapel

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is pleased to announce the following Honors and Awards which have been conferred upon selected students for the 2020-2021 academic year.

These awards were presented at the seminary’s annual Honors Chapel to recognize outstanding achievements by students and graduates. Due to the Seminary’s pivot to remote learning and operations in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, Honors Chapel was held on May 5, 2021, in a virtual format.

On behalf of the faculty and our partners, we celebrate the gifts and graces of our students and graduates, of whom we are proud to count as colleagues in ministry and service to faith communities and the wider public. May these awards be a token of our collective affirmation of your charism, and a reminder of the Christian conviction that we are each called to be an instrument of God’s grace in this world.

Congratulations to Garrett students and graduates on this important recognition!

Rev. Dr. Mai-Anh Le Tran
Vice President of Academic Affairs and Academic Dean

2020-2021 Honors and Awards

The Dr. and Mrs. Edgar Faust Preaching Award
Awarded each year by the preaching and worship field to a graduating student who is an outstanding preacher.

2021 Recipient: Monica McDougal

The Quentin Nolte Prize for Promise in Parish Ministry
Awarded each year by the field education faculty.

2021 Recipient: Taelor Hickey

J.E. Porter Prize for Creative Field Education
Awarded each year by the field education faculty.

2021 Recipient: Grace Okerson

The Dr. Richard Ford Prize for Christian Education
Awarded each year by the Christian education faculty to a graduating student who is an outstanding educator.

2021 Recipient: Kaylissa Beale

The Herwin U. Roop Award for Proficiency in Reading Scriptures
Awarded each year by the preaching and worship faculty.

2021 Recipient: Kandace Taylor

Moriah’s Promise Honor Award
The student recipient is selected by the Congregational Leadership faculty; the faculty recipient is selected by the students in the Congregational Leadership field; and the staff recipient is selected by the faculty and students in Congregational Leadership. The Award recognizes those who demonstrate a ministry of hope in the Church.

2021 Student Recipient: Daniel Skelton

Moriah’s Promise Honor Award

2021 Staff Recipient: Renee Smithback

The Ernest T. Campbell Preaching Award
Chosen by the preaching and worship faculty in recognition of their preaching ability.

2021 Recipient: Innis Miller

Garrett-Evangelical’s Interpretation Award
Given each year to five graduating students for outstanding achievement in Bible and theology.

2021 Student Recipients:

  • Red Holdridge
  • Cassandra Chee
  • Mack Owings
  • Efraín Belmontes
  • Carter Schram

Myrtle Saylor Speer Award
Given to three graduating female students.

2021 Recipients:

  • Monica McDougal
  • Cassandra Chee

Dr. Thomas A. Stafford Greek Prize
Awarded each year by the faculty who teach Greek for excellent achievement.

2021 Recipient: Daniel Skelton

The Styberg Preaching Institute Award
Awarded each year to a graduating student who is an outstanding preacher.

2021 Recipient: Ellen Marie Gotelli

The Styberg Preaching Institute DMin Award
Presented by the Styberg Preaching Institute to the graduating student in the ACTS DMin in Preaching program whose preaching project was deemed outstanding and of benefit to the wider church.

2021 Recipient: Jon Robinson

Hoyt L. Hickman Award on behalf of the Order of Saint Luke
Presented to a graduating seminarian who has excelled in worship leadership or liturgical studies.

2021 Recipient: Han Lee

Fellowship of United Methodists in Music and Worship Arts
Given to someone who has contributed with creativity and quality to chapel services.

2021 Recipient: Toar Hutagalung

Deacon’s Heart
Given to a graduating deacon student who embodies the ministries of compassion and justice.

2021 Recipient: Maria Penrod

Styberg Preaching Institute Award of Distinction
Given in recognition of his outstanding dissertation entitled Fulfilled in our Bodies: Embodied Experience of the Divine Presence in Preaching

2021 Recipient: Jaewoong Jung