Skip to content »

2022-01 Archive

Rev. Dr. R. Lorraine Brown (Cross) DMin, CHM (Certified Health Minister), CPHP (Certificate in Public Health Practice), and RN has had a career that might be described as a nurturing journey. Prior to a life of ministry, her career was focused in the areas of early childhood health education and sickle cell disease, working for the federal government as the Director of the Hemoglobinopathy Programs and Project Director for two Sickle Cell Disease programs.

Three members of the Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary faculty have been appointed to endowed chairs, announced the Reverend Dr. Javier A. Viera, president of the seminary.  Dr. Wonhee Anne Joh, the Revered Dr. Reginald Blount, and the Reverend Dr. Timothy R. Eberhart assumed their appointments effective January 1, 2022.

Dr. Wonhee Anne Joh has been appointed by President Javier A. Viera to the Harry R. Kendall Endowed Chair in Christian Theology and Postcolonial Studies, effective January 1, 2022. Thanks to the generosity of Kendall and the trust he established prior to his death in 1958, this is the second endowed faculty chair at Garrett-Evangelical to bear his name. Current faculty member Dr. K.K. Yeo is also the Harry R. Kendall Chair in New Testament, a position to which he was appointed in 2001.

Rev. Dr. Reginald Blount (G-ETS 2005), associate professor of formation, leadership, and culture at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, has been appointed by President Javier A. Viera to the Murray H. Leiffer Chair in Formation, Leadership and Culture, effective January 1, 2022. Formerly held by Rev. Dr. Richard D. Tholin (1985-1993), Rev. Dr. Mark A. Fowler (2000-2016), and Rev. Dr. Timothy R. Eberhart (2020-2021), Blount is the fourth person and first person of color to be appointed to the Leiffer chair since its establishment in 1984. 

Rev. Dr. Timothy R. Eberhart, associate professor of theology and ecology at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, has been appointed by President Javier A. Viera to the L. Robert and Marilyn McClean Chair in Ecological Theology and Practice, effective January 1, 2022. Eberhart is the inaugural holder of the endowed chair, which was made possible by the generosity of Garrett Biblical Institute alums Marilyn (GBI 1958) and Robert (GBI 1959).

This article originally appeared in the Fall 2021 Science for Seminaries Newsletter


The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is pleased to host a new initiative focused on incorporating science into theological education through its Dialogue on Science, Ethics, and Religion (DoSER) program. The Association’s Science for Seminaries Seed Grant Initiative, funded by the John Templeton Foundation, has provided one year of flexible funding to more than 10 seminaries accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).