Skip to content »

2017-05 Archive

Rev. Dr. David L. Heetland, Vice President for Development at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, was honored with the Eliza Garrett Distinguished Service Award for the successful completion of the Forging Our Future capital campaign, raising over $100 million for scholarship, faculty, program, and unrestricted support. President Lallene J. Rector presented Heetland with the award at the Board of Trustees meeting on May 11, 2017.

The Rev. Dr. Carmichael D. Crutchfield and the Rev. Dr. Stephen A. Dahl were named the 2017 Distinguished Alums at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary’s 160th Commencement on May 12, 2017. Each year Garrett-Evangelical chooses two alums to be honored as Distinguished Alums. One alum is chosen from the most recent 25 years of graduates, and one alum is chosen from alums who graduated over 25 years ago.

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary has surpassed its $100 million Forging Our Future capital campaign goal, the largest fundraising effort in the seminary’s 162-year history. With over 17,100 donors contributing to the success of this campaign, the goal was surpassed with a recent $5 million commitment to unrestricted endowment from Ernest and Bernice Styberg.

Stybergs Put the Campaign Over the Top

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is pleased to announce the appointment of Mai-Anh Le Tran as associate professor of religious education and practical theology. Tran is an experienced educator, a well-respected scholar in the field of religious education, and deeply dedicated to the church and community. Her appointment will officially begin July 1, 2017.

“And serve each other according to the gift each person has received, as good managers of God’s diverse gifts.” (1 Peter 4:10 CEB)