Skip to content »

2016-05 Archive

The Rev. Dr. Tracy Smith Malone and Bishop Donald A. Ott were named 2016 Distinguished Alums at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary’s 159th Commencement on May 13, 2016. Each year Garrett-Evangelical chooses two alums to be honored as Distinguished Alums. One alum is chosen from the most recent 25 years of graduates, and one alum is chosen from alums who graduated over 25 years ago.

(LOUISVILLE, Ky.) – The Workgroup on Constructive Theology produced and distributed a video titled Fear Not!, which encourages Christians to respond in faith to the dangerous and fearful public discourse of our current political season. Among the diverse theologians who appear in the video is Dr. Stephen Ray, the Neal F. and Ila A. Fisher Professor of Systematic Theology at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary.

Literature for All of Us is an Evanston-based organization that brings the rewards of reading and writing through book group discussions to young people in underserved neighborhoods. One of their most recent projects, Transforming Justice, is being done in collaboration with Piven Theatre Workshop, The Evanston Art Center, The James B.