Skip to content »

2014-05 Archive

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is pleased to announce that the seminary has been awarded a $100,000 grant by the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry (GBHEM) of The United Methodist Church for the Young Clergy Initiative (YCI). This initiative specifically focuses on programming geared toward increasing the number of young clergy in The United Methodist Church. Garrett-Evangelical was one of twenty-nine organizations to be given a monetary grant from the GBHEM for this initiative and one of two United Methodist theological schools.

Rev. Alfred T. Day, an adjunct faculty member at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, has been named General Secretary of the General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH) of The United Methodist Church. Day currently serves as the pastor at Historic St. George’s United Methodist Church in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and an adjunct professor in United Methodist studies at Garrett-Evangelical. Day’s new position will take him to the United Methodist Archives and History Center at Drew University, located in Madison, New Jersey.

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is honored to recognize Dr. Rita Lester and Dr. M. Franklin Dotts as the 2014 Distinguished Alumni. Each year, the seminary chooses two alumni to be honored as Distinguished Alumni at our Commencement exercises. One alumnus is chosen from the most recent 25 years of graduates and one alumnus is chosen from all those alumni who graduated over 25 years ago.

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is pleased to announce that Dr. Pamela Holliman, Associate Professor of Pastoral Theology and Pastoral Psychotherapy, has been elected the President of the American Association of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC). The mission of this association is to bring healing, hope, and wholeness to individuals, families, and communities by expanding and equipping spiritually grounded and psychologically informed care, counseling, and psychotherapy.