Skip to content »

2013-07 Archive

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is pleased to announce the inauguration of the endowed Rueben P. Job Chair of Spiritual Formation and the installation of Dr. Frederick W. Schmidt into this Chair as the Rueben P. Job Associate Professor of Spiritual Formation. The inauguration and installation ceremony will be held on September 10, 2013 at 11:15 a.m. in the Chapel of the Unnamed Faithful. The establishment of the endowed Rueben P. Job Chair in Spiritual Formation continues Garrett-Evangelical’s commitment to academic rigor and profound spiritual formation.

Rev. Dr. Tex Sample, an ordained elder of The United Methodist Church and professor emeritus at The Saint Paul School of Theology, will be the keynote speaker at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary’s convocation on September 11, 2013. The event will be held at 11:15 a.m. in the Chapel of the Unnamed Faithful and all are welcome to attend.

Garrett-Evangelical has named Professor Stephen G. Ray, Jr. as the Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs and Academic Dean of the seminary effective August 1st though December 31, 2013. Garrett-Evangelical's current Academic Dean, Lallene Rector, will be on sabbatical leave during the fall semester and will begin her duties as president on January 1, 2014. 

President Philip Amerson presented the Eliza Garrett Distinguished Service Award to Dr. John “Jack” Harnish for his years of extraordinary service and ministry to The United Methodist Church on June 23rd. President Amerson presented the award at an event being held in Harnish’s honor at First United Methodist Church in Birmingham, Michigan for his 43 years of ministry.