Skip to content »

2013-04 Archive

On behalf of Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, President Philip Amerson presented the Eliza Garrett Distinguished Service Award to Alice Spitzer, a retiring trustee, this past Sunday, April 21st.  President Amerson surprised Spitzer with the award in front of her home congregation, First United Methodist Church of Peoria, Illinois, for her years of service to the church and the seminary.

On Tuesday, April 16, Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary and Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management awarded certificates of completion to the inaugural class of the Plus Program at a dinner held at Northwestern University’s School of Law in Chicago, Illinois. Dr. Philip Amerson, President of Garrett-Evangelical, and Ms.

The Association for Doctor of Ministry Education (ADME) has selected current Doctor of Ministry (D.Min.) student, Rev. Steven Trefz, as the recipient of The Journal of Christian Ministry Award of Excellence for his recently completed thesis. Entitled “Picturing” Lay Ministry: Photovoice and Participatory Group Spiritual Gifts Assessment, Trefz’s thesis was chosen from hundreds of D.Min. theses from 55 ADME represented schools across the United States and Canada. 

Dr. Morton Schapiro, President of Northwestern University, will deliver the address at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary’s 156th Commencement and receive an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters. The service will begin at 10 a.m. on May 17th, at First United Methodist Church in Evanston with a reception to follow.