Skip to content »


When working on the movie’s script last summer, Griffen said, she and Chapelle thought to themselves, “‘What do we have at our fingertips that can be part of the story?’” They realized the answer was obvious, and over the past two weeks, their fingertips have touched nearly every corner of the campus and city. Scenes have been filmed at the Technological Institute, Swift Hall, Lunt Hall, Crowe Hall and the fraternity quad, in addition to Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, South Beach, the Noyes El station and various other locations.
Jun 29
Rev. David M. Stark
June 26, 2017 — The Styberg Preaching Institute at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is pleased to announce the selection of doctoral candidate, Rev. David M. Stark, as the 2017-2018 Styberg Teaching Fellow. Sponsored by the Lilly Endowment Inc., this fellowship is awarded to a promising doctoral or post-doctorate candidate with a focus in homiletics or a cognate field. Stark will officially begin on July 1, 2017.
Dr. Wonhee Anne Joh
May 24, 2017 — The Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary Board of Trustees unanimously approved the promotion of Dr. Wonhee Anne Joh from associate to full professor of systematic theology at their bi-annual meeting on May 11, 2017. This historic promotion makes Joh the first Korean American female full professor of systematic theology in the United States and the first Asian American female to earn full professor in the seminary’s 162-year history.
David L. Heetland Receiving the Eliza Garrett Award
May 18, 2017 — Rev. Dr. David L. Heetland, Vice President for Development at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, was honored with the Eliza Garrett Distinguished Service Award for the successful completion of the Forging Our Future capital campaign, raising over $100 million for scholarship, faculty, program, and unrestricted support. President Lallene J. Rector presented Heetland with the award at the Board of Trustees meeting on May 11, 2017.
Stephen Dahl, Lallene J. Rector, Carmichael Crutchfield
May 17, 2017 — The Rev. Dr. Carmichael D. Crutchfield and the Rev. Dr. Stephen A. Dahl were named the 2017 Distinguished Alums at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary’s 160th Commencement on May 12, 2017. Each year Garrett-Evangelical chooses two alums to be honored as Distinguished Alums. One alum is chosen from the most recent 25 years of graduates, and one alum is chosen from alums who graduated over 25 years ago.
President Lallene J. Rector and Chairperson Jerre Stead
May 11, 2017 — Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary has surpassed its $100 million Forging Our Future capital campaign goal, the largest fundraising effort in the seminary’s 162-year history. With over 17,100 donors contributing to the success of this campaign, the goal was surpassed with a recent $5 million commitment to unrestricted endowment from Ernest and Bernice Styberg.