Skip to content »


Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is pleased to announce the appointments of Dr. Débora Junker as assistant dean of student life, director of the office of international students, and director of the Hispanic Center. Dr. Tércio Junker will be appointed as dean of the chapel and director of the Course of Study and Escuela del Curso de Estudio programs. They will officially begin their appointments July 1, 2015.
Apr 27
April 23, 2015 — Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary PhD candidates, Rev. Nicholas Grier and Rev. Chan Thawng Lian, have been awarded doctoral fellowships from the Forum for Theological Exploration (FTE), located in Decatur, Georgia. Grier and Lian are both PhD candidates in the field of pastoral theology, personality, and culture.
April 16, 2015 — EVANSTON, Illinois, April 2015 – Mr. John Carter, Director of Building and Grounds at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, was awarded the Eliza Garrett Distinguished Service Award on March 31 for his 52 years of service to the Seminary. President Lallene J. Rector presented the service award to Carter at a surprise gathering organized by the Buildings and Grounds staff. Carter officially retired in April.
March 24, 2015 — Dr. Stephen G. Ray, Jr., Neal F. and Ila A. Fisher professor of systematic theology at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, was named president-elect of the Society for the Study of Black Religion at their 45th Annual Meeting held March 19-21 in Savannah, Georgia.
March 1, 2015 — Award-winning journalist and best-selling author, Alex Kotlowitz will be the keynote speaker at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary’s 158th Commencement on May 15, 2015.
February 13, 2015 — Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary is honored to announce that it has been selected for the 2015 list of Seminaries that Change the World by the Center for Faith and Service.